Variational models and gradient flows for graph clustering

Wed, Jun 23, 2021, 12:00 pm
Speaker(s): 
Sponsor(s): 
One World Seminar Series on the Mathematics of Machine Learning

The One World Seminar on The Mathematics of Machine Learning

Date: Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Time: 12 noon EST (5PM BST / 6PM CEST / 9AM PDT / 10AM MDT / 11AM CDT).

Speaker:  Yves van Gennip (Delft University of Technology)

https://www.oneworldml.org/home

The link to the seminar will be sent on Tuesday (and will also be visible on the website just before the talk).

Title: Variational models and gradient flows for graph clustering

Abstract: Discrete graph-based variants of the Allen--Cahn and total variation variational models have proven to be successful tools for clustering and classification on graphs. In this talk we will study these models and the gradient flows that are derived from them. We will see deep connections between the various discrete gradient flows as well as between the discrete gradient flows and their continuum relatives.